CO-04 (Special Election) See Full Big Line

(R) Greg Lopez

(R) Trisha Calvarese



President (To Win Colorado) See Full Big Line

(D) Joe Biden*

(R) Donald Trump



CO-01 (Denver) See Full Big Line

(D) Diana DeGette*


CO-02 (Boulder-ish) See Full Big Line

(D) Joe Neguse*


CO-03 (West & Southern CO) See Full Big Line

(D) Adam Frisch

(R) Jeff Hurd

(R) Ron Hanks




CO-04 (Northeast-ish Colorado) See Full Big Line

(R) Lauren Boebert

(R) Deborah Flora

(R) J. Sonnenberg




CO-05 (Colorado Springs) See Full Big Line

(R) Jeff Crank

(R) Dave Williams



CO-06 (Aurora) See Full Big Line

(D) Jason Crow*


CO-07 (Jefferson County) See Full Big Line

(D) Brittany Pettersen



CO-08 (Northern Colo.) See Full Big Line

(D) Yadira Caraveo

(R) Gabe Evans

(R) Janak Joshi




State Senate Majority See Full Big Line





State House Majority See Full Big Line





Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
December 31, 2010 04:24 AM UTC

"Kumbaya Committee" Members Announced

  • by: Colorado Pols

Joint press release from majority and minority leaders in both chambers after the jump, with the makeup of the special committee announced two weeks ago to attempt a bipartisan consensus on the redrawing of Colorado’s seven congressional districts. Says incoming GOP House Speaker Frank McNulty, “Our goal in creating this committee is to take a new approach to the congressional redistricting process that is focused on drawing fair boundary lines and avoiding the partisan squabbles that have marked this process in past years.”

We are morally obligated to allow them at least one good-faith attempt at this, folks. Sing along, at least until you decide you’d get a better deal in court.

House & Senate Leadership Announce Appointments

To Bipartisan Redistricting Committee

House Speaker-designee Frank McNulty, R-Highlands Ranch, Senate President Brandon Shaffer, D-Longmont, Senate Minority Leader Mike Kopp, R-Littleton, and House Minority Leader Sal Pace, D-Pueblo, today announced their appointments to serve on the joint legislative committee tasked with drawing Colorado’s congressional lines.

“Our goal in creating this committee is to take a new approach to the congressional redistricting process that is focused on drawing fair boundary lines and avoiding the partisan squabbles that have marked this process in past years,” McNulty said. “Our members of the committee share that goal and are equally committed to ensuring a fair and transparent process.”

“We’ve got great bipartisan legislators on this committee,” President Shaffer added. “I’m confident each member will take this responsibility very seriously and work hard to deliver fair, honest results for the citizens of Colorado.”

“Redistricting is an important responsibility for the state legislature, and this bi-partisan committee provides Coloradans across the state an opportunity to contribute to the process,” said House Minority Leader Sal Pace.

“The people of Colorado expect a fair and transparent process in redrawing Colorado’s congressional districts,” said Senate Minority Leader Mike Kopp. “The focus of this joint legislative committee is to ensure districts are competitive and the general public has a voice in this effort.”

The Joint Select Committee will have 10 members: five Democrats and five Republicans. Speaker-designee McNulty and President Shaffer appointed three members each. The House and Senate Minority Leaders will each appointed two members.

Serving on the Committee from the Senate will be Co-Chair Sen. Rollie Heath, D-Boulder, Sen. Gail Schwartz, D-Snowmass, Sen. Morgan Carroll, D-Aurora, Sen. Greg Brophy, R-Wray, and Sen. Mark Scheffel, R-Parker.

Serving on the committee from the House will be Co-Chair Rep. David Balmer, R-Centennial, Rep. B.J. Nikkel, R-Loveland, Rep.-elect Don Coram, R-Montrose, Rep.-elect Dan Pabon, D-Denver, and Rep. Ed Vigil, D-Alamosa.

The committee will be tasked with holding at least one public hearing in each of Colorado’s seven Congressional Districts to hear public testimony. Additionally, the committee will evaluate proposed maps, seek public feedback, and make recommendations to the General Assembly.



15 thoughts on ““Kumbaya Committee” Members Announced

  1. There are no Jeffco folks on the committee. The dividing up of Jefferson and Arapahoe Counties as the boundaries of CD’s 6 and 7 are moved about will probably be the biggest point of contention in this process. Yet only ArapCo is represented on the committee, and by two members no less.


      1. Jeffco and Adams should be prepared to get screwed again.  Of course, we couldn’t possibly split Denver.  That just wouldn’t be right.  BS.  And what about the double representation for the rural areas too??? Three members.  Are you kidding? I hope they fail miserably and this gets decided by a court.

  2. I use that term loosely, because the idea that it is a group of people which judges impartially is just not credible in Colorado anymore. Which is why I suspect Dems will try to logjam this group in order to throw the electoral map in their favor.

      1. Having a healthy respect for how things can go wrong (see: the last two years) makes us more cautious and less prone to risky and irrational behavior. Like, say, voting for some arrogant jerk who thinks he controls the level of the oceans and who will pour our money down the drain without a second thought. Trying to claim that conservatives vote with their emotions is rather hilarious. This is what I refer to when I talk about showing liberals their own hypocrisy.

      2. Because I’m having a really difficult time accepting that right-wingers have brains, let alone that they might possess some portion with an enhanced size.

        (Maybe the have average sized “fear centers,” that just seem larger in proportion to their overall dimunitive brain capacity?)

Leave a Comment

Recent Comments

Posts about

Donald Trump

Posts about

Rep. Lauren Boebert

Posts about

Rep. Yadira Caraveo

Posts about

Colorado House

Posts about

Colorado Senate

53 readers online now


Subscribe to our monthly newsletter to stay in the loop with regular updates!