2014 Colorado Legislative Conservation Scorecard

(Promoted by Colorado Pols)

Today we were proud to release the 2014 Colorado Legislative Conservation Scorecard. Overall, the 2014 legislative session was pretty good for the environment.  The Denver Post’s Lynn Bartels was the first one up with a story this AM, headlining our recognition of Rep. Jared Wright (R-Fruita) for “reaching across the aisle.”  

Rep. Max Tyler (D-Lakewood) joined us on our press teleconference and spoke of his pride in working to help clean up uranium contaminated groundwater for residents in Canon City and move innovative water efficiency measures. One of which was inexplicably vetoed by the Governor. Although in the end the Governor did end the bill signing session with a bang for the environment. Rep. Tyler’s House Transportation and Energy Committee did yeoman’s work on conservation issues this past session as Senator Ulibarri’s Senate State and Veteran Affairs Committee.

The future looks bright on conservation with up and coming leaders like Rep. KC Becker (D-Boulder) while we salute conservation champions Senator Gail Schwartz (D-Snowmass), Randy Fischer (D- Fort Collins) and Claire Levy (D-Boulder).  Conservation Colorado will work hard to defend our conservation champions this fall and we expect to move a progressive agenda next session to protect Colorado’s air, land, water and people.

Our press release below:

The 2014 Colorado legislature worked to protect Colorado communities, hold polluters accountable, and defend Colorado’s clean renewable energy leadership.


“The conservation community worked to protect Colorado’s unparalleled environment and our unique quality of life in the 2014 legislative session.  We worked with our legislative champions to protect Colorado’s air, land, water and public health while fighting back against big polluters and those who don’t believe in the value of our public lands,” said Pete Maysmith, Executive Director, Conservation Colorado. “Under the leadership of conservation champions such as Senate President Morgan Carroll and House Speaker Mark Ferrandino, the legislature successfully addressed cleaning up contaminated groundwater for Canon City residents, increasing fines on oil and gas violators, expanding access to water efficient fixtures, and safeguarding our public lands and outdoor heritage.”


This 16th annual scorecard consists of the key issues and votes considered during the 2014 legislative session.  Conservation community priorities this year included defending Colorado’s clean renewable energy leadership, creating a paint recycling and disposal program and increasing the efficient use and reuse of scarce water supplies.

The scorecard also recognizes the hard work of both Senate and House Committee members and key Chairs while honoring a number of termed legislators for their conservation legacy. Additionally, individual legislators are recognized for their bipartisanship, persevering through tough legislative hurdles to see bills signed into law, and for their emerging legislative leadership.

"I'm proud to sponsor bills and cast my vote for the environment," said Representative Max Tyler.  "Winning on oil and gas violations, water efficiency, protecting public lands and more would not have been possible without the advocacy and hard work of the Representatives and Senators recognized today. Legislators like these are critical to protecting our unique Colorado quality of life."


“It is important to honor the work of Colorado’s legislative committees which all too often go underappreciated.  But it is in our committees where Colorado bills are given their due, good laws are made better and bad ideas wither on the vine,” stated Pete Maysmith. “We are also pleased to recognize a number of termed limited legislative champions, up and comers at the Capitol and legislators who reached across the aisle to protect Colorado communities and our environment.”


The average score was 61%

15 Senators had a score of 100%

Senators Vicki Marble and Owen Hill were the lone Senators to score 0%

Senator Bernie Herpin had the highest score for a Republican at 60% followed by Senator Ellen Roberts at 50%



The average score was 63%

35 Representatives, over half of the state House, had a score of 100%

Representatives Jerry Sonnenberg, Lori Saine, Daniel Nordberg, Lois Landgraf, Stephen Humphrey, Justin Everett and Perry Buck all received 0%

Representative Jared Wright had the highest score for a Republican at 64% followed by Cheri Gerou and Robert Rankin at 36%.

Special Recognition:


Committed committees

House Transportation and Energy Committee, chaired by Representative Max Tyler, House Judiciary Committee chaired by Representative Daniel Kagan

Senate State, Veterans and Military Affairs Committee, chaired by Senator Jessie Ulibarri                                                       

Leaving a legacy

Senator Gail Schwartz and Representative Randy Fischer

Representative Claire Levy


Reaching across the aisle

Representative Jared Wright


Tackling tough issues

Senator Mary Hodge


One to watch

Representative KC Becker

Leave a Reply

Comment from your Facebook account

You may comment with your Colorado Pols account above (click here to register), or via Facebook below.